The 3 “F”s of Pinterest

Fitness.

Food.

Fashion.

Although not necessarily in that order, that’s what I use Pinterest for.

If you haven’t already checked it out, Pinterest is a great place for finding inspiration, tips, tricks and advice on pretty much anything you can think of.

I’m one of those girls who looked at Pinterest, saw the fitness part and stuck a board on my profile called “Thinspiration.” MISTAKE. I look at this board and I think “oh what I wouldn’t give to be thin/have abs/have slimmer hips/have thigh gap” when I should be using this amazing tool to motivate myself to be fit and healthy. Don’t ask me to change the title just yet though; I need to come up with something a little more motivational than “Fitness.” Any ideas?

My fitness board is full of little workout ideas, routines to start, and the odd inspirational photograph like this:

because your mind is your greatest opponent.This one really speaks to me – my frame of mind is my absolute worst enemy when it comes to getting to the gym/establishing a routine.

It’s been a nice resource for when I get tired of the standard workouts and want to try something new, and also for finding home workouts (something I have yet to attempt, which I’m blaming on Target for never having the workout equipment in stock)

Anyway, other than the obligatory “I’m trying to change my body” pin board, I have a large focus on fashion (shopping is my vice) and on food. Pinterest has totally revolutionized the way I eat. There’s such a variety of recipes available, from healthy eating to utterly decadent meals, that I’m never short of choice when I plan our week’s meals. I used to rotate from a small repertoire of meals that I knew 100% would turn out and rarely ever experiment, but now we hardly eat the same thing twice in one month (unless I’m dying over a recipe and then it’s on the table again ASAP), don’t eat processed/ready-made meals and we’re always trying new things. I once even made my own ricotta with the help of Pinterest!

Pinterest has been a great resource for my smoothie ideas and for introducing more health-conscious recipes into my week. For breakfast (now bumped to lunch, thanks to the NutriBullet) I LOVE LOVE LOVE this delicious refrigerator oatmeal from Monica at The Yummy Life. So quick and easy to prepare the night before and tasty & nutritious the next day (or even after – they’re good for a couple days in the fridge). For snacks, I’ve done a few flavours of kale chips and even tried my own potato chips – baked not fried! My most recent favourite discovery was this amazing Southwestern Chopped Salad with Cilantro Lime Dressing – it was filling, but light and refreshing at the same time. And there’s a couple that I can’t wait to try – this Quinoa Buddha Bowl and a Kale Salad with Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette. I’ve been trying to reduce the amount of meat I ingest on a weekly basis as well, and when it comes to inventive vegetarian recipes, Pinterest is an absolute gold mine. I won’t list for you all the one’s I’ve tried, nor can I take pictures of my food because somehow my presentation rarely ever looks as good as the original post, but definitely go check it out, try something new and you might surprise yourself!

If you want to check out my Pinterest boards, you can find them here.

J xo

PS – I have to include the fact that I have an obscene amount of delicious and slightly less-healthy recipes on my Pinterest food board. Favourites include Beer-Battered Cod & Chips, Pasta with White Wine, Mushroom & Cream, Balsamic Glazed Steak Rolls and a to-die-for Stout French Onion Soup which I made on Monday night because it was -35c and I needed some warmth. DELICIOUS!

Stout-French-Onion-Soup_

The Beeroness totally nailed this one. Love her!

PPS Today’s NutriBullet features spinach, kale, cucumber, pineapple, mango, avocado and flax seed. I’m in love with the refreshing hint of cucumber that manages to peek through all the other stuff.

Leave a Reply

